Mountain biking, healthy “Alfredo” Sauce, and I’m Crunchy?

On Wednesday I didn’t have the brothers to watch, and there was no Youth Group because of VBS, so I took the whole day to myself and did somethingwanted to do. I have an inborn love for the outdoors and anything natural and wild. I hate being fenced in or feeling trapped in any way. Interestingly I don’t fear much, but I’m disastrously claustrophobic. If it’s too small, too closed, little way to escape, I panic! Whether it’s physical or mental, it pushes my panic switch.
7 hours with my mountain bike and the Appalachian trail. I can’t say for sure how many miles that was, but it was a pretty amazing day.
 IMG_6592IMG_6333 IMG_6471

I’m grateful that my body can endure the adventures I choose to put it through, after pushing myself so hard this year to lose weight and take back control of myself. When I’m not at my best I can’t live my best, so personal health has become a priority with countless benefits. I feel better and can do more than I ever have in my life.
Thank you everyone who encouraged me through making these changes and building the best possible version of myself. I’m stronger and happier without preventable limitations and can live more truthfully as myself and who I was created to be.
Of course I couldn’t have come as far as I have without the ability to cook. I’ve had some pretty disgusting health food (sorry mom) and I didn’t know until recently when I turned my cooking and food interests away from the dark side that done properly it can be just as delicious as anything that will make you fat and kill you slowly. I even made some pretty convincing Paleo fudge recently, sweetened with honey, that tasted just like you’d expect chocolate to taste, except that it has to be refrigerated at all times or it turns into a puddle. Worth it if you’re concerned for your health. Tonight I made garlic ‘alfredo’ sauce that was actually so tasty that I licked the spoon, and licked it again, then sucked the whole thing dry and crammed it into my mouth. This is going to be a new favorite. I made a huge vat of it that’s going in the freezer. Because I want everyone to be deliciously healthy, I put the recipe down below.
IMG_6648

CREAMY GARLIC CAULIFLOWER SAUCE
INGREDIENTS
·         6 large cloves garlic, minced
·         2 tablespoons butter
·         5-6 cups cauliflower florets
·         6-7 cups vegetable broth or water
·         2 teaspoon salt (more to taste)
1 teaspoon pepper (more to taste)
·         ½ cup milk (more to taste)
INSTRUCTIONS
1.     Garlic: Saute the minced garlic with the butter in a nonstick skillet over low heat. Cook for several minutes or until the garlic is soft and fragrant but not browned (browned or burnt garlic will taste bitter). Remove from heat and set aside.
2.     Cauliflower: Bring the water or vegetable broth to a boil in a large pot. Add the cauliflower and cook, covered, for 7-10 minutes or until cauliflower is fork tender. Do not drain.
3.     Puree: Use a slotted spoon to transfer the cauliflower pieces to the blender. Add 1 cup vegetable broth or cooking liquid, sauteed garlic/butter, salt, pepper, and milk. Blend or puree for several minutes until the sauce is very smooth, adding more broth or milk depending on how thick you want the sauce. You may have to do this in batches depending on the size of your blender. Serve hot! If the sauce starts to look dry, add a few drops of water, milk, or olive oil.
NOTES
I like to add a little bit of olive oil for the flavor and to help keep the sauce really smooth.
**Serving size is 1/2 cup.
Did you know that I’m Crunchy?
While looking for granola recipes for my beach trip next week I came across this funny term I’d never heard before, but definitely describes me. I even looked it up on dictionary.com, and yes it’s an official term. There’s actually a group of people who call themselves “Crunchy”, or “Crunchy granola” or “Granola”. It’s amazing what can be found online.

CRUNCH·Y

[kruhn-chee]  Show IPA

adjective, crunch·i·er, crunch·i·est.

1.

crisp; brittle.
2.

Sometimes, crunchy granola. Informal. health-conscious and environmentally aware: one of those crunchy guys who insists on biking to work.
 
 

I think I’ll adopt this term. When people accuse me of ‘always being on a diet’ I can say, “I’m not dieting, I’m Crunchy!” They’ll likely still be confused, but at least I get a fun title.

Many people already know and accept that I’m a health nut. On Thursday I spent a few hours with my lovely friend Sara at her house, and they were thoughtful enough to serve me zucchini lasagna instead of real noodles. (it was good, by the way) It was refreshing having someone be sensitive to that instead of shoving pastries and mcdonalds in my face.

This has also been a year for spiritual and mental health, and God continues to lead me in new directions and reveal Himself to me every day. Whether I’m riding my bike in the mountains, journaling, or making dinner for my family, I’m always learning something from Him. I’m amazed at His beauty and presence in everything, and as I look out my window at the leafy branches gently scraping the screen and the immense black sky, I think of Psalm 8.

8 O Lord, our Lord,
How excellent is Your name in all the earth,
Who have set Your glory above the heavens!
2 Out of the mouth of babes and nursing infants
You have ordained strength,
Because of Your enemies,
That You may silence the enemy and the avenger.
3 When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers,
The moon and the stars, which You have ordained,
4 What is man that You are mindful of him,
And the son of man that You visit him?
5 For You have made him a little lower than the angels,[b]
And You have crowned him with glory and honor.
6 You have made him to have dominion over the works of Your hands;
You have put all things under his feet,
7 All sheep and oxen—
Even the beasts of the field,
8 The birds of the air,
And the fish of the sea
That pass through the paths of the seas.
9 O Lord, our Lord,
How excellent is Your name in all the earth!


Leave a Reply

